No.3105/22/2015-BC-III GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF INFORMATION & BROADCASTING 'A' WING, SHASTRI BHAWAN NEW DELHI- 110001

Dated the 7th June, 2016

To

- 1. All TV Channels
- 2. All FM Radio Channels
- 3. All Community Radio Stations

Subject : Launching of campaign for generating awareness about Yoga and International Yoga Day.

On 11.12.2014, the United Nations General Assembly has declared June 21 to be celebrated as the International Yoga Day (IYD) each year. The declaration came after the call for the adoption of 21 June as the IYD by Indian Prime Minister during his address to the UN General Assembly on 27.9.2014 wherein he stated that Yoga is an invaluable gift of India's ancient tradition which embodies unity of mind and body that provides a holistic approach to health and well-being.

The forthcoming June 21 will be the second International Yoga Day and hence, it will hold special significance for India, particularly when the genesis of practice of Yoga is associated with our country and several initiatives have been taken by institutions, both public and private, to promote the cause.

To take the same forward, all TV channels, FM stations & community radio stations have contributed immensely to the cause of promotion of Yoga and International Day of Yoga in the past and it is hoped that they will take all possible steps this year also to promote International Yoga Day (IYD) by carrying special features or in any other befitting manner during the period leading to the occasion.

[NEETI SARKAR] Director (BC) Tele. 23386536

Copy to:

- 1. Shri Rajat Sharma, President, News Broadcasters Association, Mantec House, 3rd Floor, C-56/5, Sector 62, NOIDA 201307 (Two copies each in Hindi and English of the DVD and a copy of the Booklet on Yoga are enclosed).
- 2. Shri Uday Shankar, President, The Indian Broadcasting Foundation, B-304, 3rd Floor, Ansal Plaza, Khelgaon Marg, New Delhi 110049 (Two copies each in Hindi and English of the DVD and a copy of the Booklet on Yoga are enclosed).
- 3. Shri Uday Chawla, Association of Radio Operators for India (AROI), 304, Competent House, F-14, Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001.
- 4. Ms. Archana Kapur Community Radio Association (CRA), 145, Gautam Nagar, New Delhi 110049.
- 5. Shri D.P. Singh, Secretary-General, Federation of Community Radio Stations (FCRS), 38, Bahubali Enclave, Delhi 110092.
- 6. Shri N. Ramakrishnan, Secretary General, Community Radio Forum of India, 1381, Sector 37, Faridabad 121003 (Haryana.
- 7. Shri Rakesh Sharma, Association of Regional Television Broadcasters of India (ARTBI), B-116, Okhla Industrial Area Phase-I, New Delhi 110065.
- 8. D.G., Doordarshan, Prasar Bharati, PTI Building, New Delhi.

Copy also to:

- 1. PS to MIB for kind information of HMIB.
- 2. PS to Hon'ble MOSIB
- 3. PPS to Secy.,I&B
- 4. PPS to Addl. Secy.,I&B
- 5. PPS to JS(B-I)
- 6. PPS to JS(B-II)
- OSD, Ministry of I&B
 PP Cell w.r.t their ID Note No.P-11011/4/2016-PPC (Part-I) dated 24.5.2016

[NEETI SARKAR] Director (BC)